How many times have Scotland won the wooden spoon?

How many times have Scotland won the Wooden Spoon in the Six Nations?

Since the championship was expanded from five teams in 2000, Italy has claimed 17 Wooden Spoons. Only Scotland (2004, 2007, 2012, 2015), Wales (2003) and France (2013) have stopped it heading to Rome. England and Ireland have never won the Wooden Spoon – although they did in the five team days.

Who has won the most wooden spoons in 5 nations?

Which country has the most wooden spoons?

  • Ireland, 25 Wooden Spoons.
  • Scotland, 24 Wooden Spoons.
  • England, 19 Wooden Spoons.
  • Wales, 17 Wooden Spoons.
  • Italy, 16 Wooden Spoons.
  • France, 13 Wooden Spoons.

Which team has won the most wooden spoons in the Six Nations?


England Ireland
Wooden Spoons
Home Nations 7 10
Five Nations 10 15
Six Nations

Has Scotland ever won the Six Nations?

Six Nations

Scotland have won the title outright 14 times and shared the championship a further eight times. Scotland have won three Grand Slams (including the Triple Crown) in 1925, 1984 and 1990, in addition to a further seven Triple Crowns. They also contest the Calcutta Cup with England as part of the championship.

THIS IS EXCITING:  When did England defeat the Vikings?

Who won the Six Nations?

France have been crowned 2022 Guinness Six Nations champions after defeating England in Paris to secure their first title and Grand Slam since 2010.

How many times have Ireland won the Triple Crown?

It has been won five times by Ireland, four times by Wales and three times by England.

When did Scotland last win the wooden spoon?

The Six Nations began life as the Home Nations Championship – as the name suggests, featuring just England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales – in 1883. Since then, Ireland has won the wooden spoon 29 times, followed by Scotland on 21, England on 19 and Wales on 16.

How many 6 Nations have Ireland won?

Ireland has won the six nations four times, lifting the trophy in 2009, 2014, 2015 and 2018. The two countries that have not yet one the tournament are Scotland and Italy.

Who has won the 6 Nations 2021?

Italy v Ireland

Ireland secured their first win of the Six Nations 2021 in fine style, running in six tries during a 48-10 defeat of Italy at the Stadio Olimpico.

How many wooden spoons have Italy won?

Italy have collected the most Wooden Spoons since 2000, with 14, and have been whitewashed eight times.

Why do losers get the Wooden Spoon?

To get the wooden spoon is now a prize for finishing last in a sporting event or other competition. It derives from a Cambridge University custom of presenting such a spoon to the person last in the Maths Tripos.

Why is Hogg not playing Scotland?

On the eve of their final match of an underwhelming Six Nations campaign, Scotland have confirmed that six Scotland players including captain Stuart Hogg and fly-half Finn Russell were disciplined for breaching team protocols by leaving the team hotel after last week’s win in Rome.

THIS IS EXCITING:  Quick Answer: Is the British pound based on silver?

Has Scotland ever won the World Cup?

The team have achieved some noteworthy results, such as beating the 1966 FIFA World Cup winners England 3–2 at Wembley Stadium in 1967.

Scotland national football team.

FIFA ranking
World Cup
Appearances 8 (first in 1954)
Best result Group Stage
European Championship

What does B mean in rugby?

Team A gets four points for the win, plus a bonus point for scoring at least four tries. Team B doesn’t get any points for the loss, but gets two bonus points – one for losing by seven or less points, and the other for scoring four tries or more.