What areas did the British control?

What areas were controlled by the British?

Large areas of North America, Australia, Africa and Asia were all part of the British empire at one time or other. Other areas, especially in South America, were closely linked to the British empire by trade.

Which countries came under British control?

Countries of the British Commonwealth (1926-1949)*

Country Year Joined Year Joined
Canada 1931 (founding) 1947
India 1947 1931
Irish Free State 1931 (founding) 1948
New Zealand 1931 (founding) 1931 (founding)

What three areas did the British take over?

With the onset of the Cold War in the late 1940s, the British government began to assemble plans for the independence of the empire’s colonies in Africa, Asia, and the Americas.

Which colonies were part of the British Empire?

Prior to the American Revolution the 13 colonies were governed separately, these were New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

How many countries has Britain invaded?

Of the current 200 nations in the world, the British have invaded all but 22 of them. The lucky 22 include Sweden, Luxembourg, Mongolia, Bolivia, and Belarus. The full analysis is available in Stuart Laycock’s book, All the Countries We’ve Ever Invaded.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What is the energy mix of the UK?

Why did the British Empire collapse?

The First and Second World Wars left Britain weakened and less interested in its empire. Also many parts of the empire contributed troops and resources to the war effort and took an increasingly independent view. This led to a steady decline of the empire after 1945.

Is Australia still under British?

The final constitutional ties between the United Kingdom and Australia ended in 1986 with the passing of the Australia Act 1986. Formal economic relations between the two countries declined following Britain’s accession to the European Economic Community in 1973.

How many countries have declared independence from Britain?

Since then a total of 62 countries have gained independence from the United Kingdom. This is followed by France with 28, Spain with 17, The Soviet Union with 16, Portugal with 7 and the USA with 5.

Where did the British Empire control an entire continent?

25 Cards in this Set

1) Where did the British empire control an entire continent Australia
2) Which continent had the greatest number of British colonist Africa
3) On which continent did British control the smallest land area South America
4) What was the goal of direct control assimilation

Why did Britain take control of the Suez Canal?

British rule

The Suez Canal was constructed in 1869 allowing faster sea transport to India, which increased Britain’s long-standing strategic interest in the Eastern Mediterranean.

What were the 13 original states in order?

The 13 original states were New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. The 13 original states were the first 13 British colonies.

THIS IS EXCITING:  Are cars expensive in UK?

What did the British Empire do?

Britain was heavily involved with the Transatlantic slave trade in the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The British Empire also stripped many colonies and indigenous peoples of their land and vibrant cultures, for example, the Aboriginal in Australia and the indigenous peoples of the United States.